top of page

External tutorials

Back in August when I was gearing up to move to London to finally start my studies at Kingston, I also started learning basics of modelling from different tutorials and videos.


At first, I started with Blender as it's a free software and its UI is easy to navigate compared to Maya. I wanted to start with modelling simple isometric view of the room as it includes all the basic usage of tools such as bevels, extrude etc







I learned this from the tutorial on YouTube by Left Brain CG Art. He made the video very easy to understand for the beginners.


I started modelling the room by adding a cube and then deleting the 3 faces to give the isometric view. Then I extruded along the normals the whole object to give more depth. After that I added another cube for the window, duplicated it and added difference boolean modifier on the extra cube and hide that cube to add a hole in the wall.


With the help of basic shapes and tools such as bevel, extrude, inset, loop cuts and modifiers I added bed, mirror, side tables, lamp, shelves and cupboard.




In some places I felt the challenge for example while making a pillow I tried by going in the direction of sphere and had the idea of squash and stretch the sphere, but it ruined the whole topology. So, after that I tried doing by adding ico sphere and squashed and stretched the vertices from top, bottom and sides to give it squashier look. Even though it did give some look of pillow I'm still not satisfied with the overall look of it as I feel like it needs more of the thickness and wider area.


For the lamp at first I wanted to make a simple one with sphere or cylinder but then I challenged myself to use the nurbs curve bezier to give the wire like appearance. I had to add one more vertex in middle to manipulate the middle part and give it a proper curve. I was quite satisfied with the way it turned out.



Now, for assigning materials I went over to the shading tab. I changed the render engine to evee while working instead of cycles so that I get faster results. I turned on the bloom, screen space reflections and ambient occlusion to get closer result to cycles.


I added materials by determining the roughness and metallic surface and also by adding the base colour on the object. For the windowpanes I added another slot of material from the side bar and deleted the default shader and added emission shader on the panes. For dawn I added yellow as base colour and for dusk I added dark blue as base colour. It acted as a primary light source for the window. I added the same modifiers for wall lamps and table lamp.


For lamp I increased the metallic shader to 100 and kept the roughness to 50. For mirror I added another shader glossy and kept roughness to 0 to give it the effect of mirror.






For lights, I added 3 area lights on top and on the sides to give it a bit more illumination in the room.




I set up the camera to give the final touch before rendering.



Here's the final rendering after changing the render engine to cycles.




Even though I faced some challenges as first time trying 3d modelling I learned a lot about edge loops, bevels, inset and extrudes which are the basic tools for hard surface modelling.


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page