top of page

Organic Modelling

Updated: Jan 19, 2023




For organic model I wanted to model my own illustration as I said in my earlier blog post of hard surface but unfortunately my hard surface model took a lot of time from the time I had allotted for organic model.


This is the illustration of which I wanted to make 3d Model.

But as it can be seen the model would've been too complicated for me as a first time Zbrush user and on top of that my hard surface model also had lot of things going on so I moved on to other references.


I went on pinterest to search for references for organic model and collected these for my reference board.


I did not have particular theme in my mind for References so I got kind of lost trying to decide on one. After lot of contemplating I finally I went for the cactus mafia character. But I still wanted to add something of my own in that so I made my own version taking the reference from the cactus mafia character




This is a very rough version of Cacti Man that I wanted to model as I was going for a untidy character theme.


I began sculpting the model in Zbrush with the help of defaultsphere3D



I sculpted almost whole character in Zbrush except for the cap which i wanted to do in maya


I imported the character in Maya and began retopologizing the body. I came across a lotof issues while doing the retopology of the model.


I tried to reroute and delete and make the topology many times over but somehow, I wasn't able to do it.



So, I scraped the whole idea of retopologizing and started modelling the character from scratch in maya as I was running out of time.




After modelling and making sure my topology was right, I moved ahead with UV Mapping


This time too I separated all the parts in different tiles so that it makes it easier for me in substance painter.



This time I didn't face any issues with UV unwrapping as I learned from my mistakes in hard surface and was able to import to substance painter.


After importing it to substance painter I baked the low poly model to get this mesh maps.



This is how I did texture to my model.




After that I imported the fbx file back in maya to link all the maps to different parts of the model.


This is the final video which I made out of rendered sequences



Self Critique -


I need a lot of practicing in retopology as I feel like I couldn't figure out the way to reroute the edgeflow.


I need better time management for scheduling my project timeline.


I could've done a lot better with sculpting and made more complex character but didn't push myself.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page